Hobart and William Smith Colleges will be announcing the 29th President of Hobart College and the 17th of William Smith College on Friday, February 8.

Following the resignation of President Gregory J. Vincent in April of 2018, after allegations of plagiarism, the Colleges have been conducting a nationwide search for the next President of Hobart and William Smith Colleges. In the meantime, Patrick A. McGuire has been serving as Interim President.

A search committee was formed in early June. It is led by co-chairs and Vice Chairs of the HWS Board of Trustees Cynthia Gelsthorpe Fish ’82 and Andrew G. McMaster Jr. ’74, P’09. The committee includes Trustee Aileen Diviney Gleason ’85; Student Trustee Edens D. Fleurizard ’20; Vice President and General Counsel Louis H. Guard ’07; Student Trustee Caitlin E. Lasher ’19; Assistant Professor of Political Science Justin Rose; Professor of Physics Donald A. Spector; William Smith Director of Athletics Deborah L. Steward; Trustee Craig R. Stine ’81, P’17; Vice President for Marketing and Communications Catherine J. Williams; and Professor of Dance Cynthia J. Williams P’20. The committee has been utilizing the search firm Isaacson, Miller.

This process will culminate on Friday, February 8 at 3:30 p.m. when the next president will be announced to the HWS community in the L. Thomas Melly ’52 Lobby of the Gearan Center for the Performing Arts. Details have been kept under wraps, but the Herald is working to ensure the news reaches the community and our readers after the announcement. Exclusive content will be released and previewed online from the Herald – including press releases, photographs, and interviews – ahead of our February 22 issue, where the rest of the content will be released in print.

Check back to this page, our website, and our social media for more updates and information throughout the announcement and weekend.

[display-posts tag=”presidential-announcement” posts_per_page=”5″]